Gluten Free Beers Available in the United States.


I should preface this post with one fact: I am NOT a beer drinker.  Call me crazy, but I've never, ever liked it.  Growing up, my father used to brew his own beer in an storeroom that was immediately below my room and I got to have the pleasure of smelling the hops and yeast while he brewed it and while it fermented.  So, obviously, I definitely don't like the smell.  But, I never liked the taste either.  It's too bitter and ... well, something, for me.  I have tried many types before going GF thanks to my beer "connoisseur" father and husband, but I honestly just could never take it.  So, I am providing this information to you based soley on what I've read about them on the internet.  I can offer you no opinions on this matter but thought that it was important to share with my blog readers who may not know that even when gluten free, yes, too, beer is possible!  :)

The three most commonly found brands in the United States are:

Redbridge - Produced by Anheuser-Busch, Redbridge is arguably the most commonly found gluten free beer.  This rich, full-bodied lager is brewed from the natually gluten free sorghum grain.

New Grist - Made at Lakefront Brewery, a locally-owned microbrewery in Milwaukee, this beer is brewed from sorghum, hops, water, rice and gluten-free yeast grown on molasses.  A crisp and refreshing Session Ale.

Bards Tale Beer - Founded by two Celiacs, this company brews the "Original Sorghum Malt Beer" with their own proprietary malted sorghum.  Using only sorghum, yeast, hops and water, this American-style Lager has a medium body and an amber color.


Less popular gluten free beers that are available domestically are:

Tread Lightly Ale - Brewed by the New Planet Beer Company, this beer is made from fermented sorghum and corn, hops and yeast. This beer was inspired by the American Pilsner and has a light taste and body, low caloric content and does not have the aftertaste of other sorghum-based beers.

Ramapo Valley Brewery’s Passover Honey Beer - A blue ribbon Honey Beer, this unique beer is Kosher certified for Passover.  It is bright golden in color and has notes of honey and hop.  The main fermentable is amber honey, molasses is used for flavor, nutrients and color and noble hops add a touch of bitterness to balance the honey sweetness.

 

0 comments:


Disclaimer

The opinions and thoughts expressed here are purely my own and are not coerced, swayed or influenced by a company, organization or other person. The information contained here is to the best of my knowledge at the date posted. I am NOT an expert and am NOT responsible for anything that you do with this information. Please do your own research, seek out professionals and read all ingredients yourself in order to ensure that the choices you make are right for your lifestyle.

Comments on this website may not represent the views of the blog owner and their claims, advice, etc. are the sole responsibility of their original writers, NOT the blog owner.

Search This Blog

National Soy-Free Food Examiner Articles

Silver Spring Gluten-Free Food Examiner Articles

Followers